The First Misadventure

September 22, 2010 at 8:18 AM Leave a comment

So, I have decided to chronicle experiences I have in life in a blog. The decision to do this is not something I have never considered; I have given it much thought on many occasions. In the past I have attempted writing other blogs, but something seemed to be missing in the experience and I always fizzled out of doing it for some reason or another. In hot pursuit of a fresh start I have created a new blog, and surely I will do my best to stick with it this time!  Before you get excited I suppose I should tell you that I am not overly exciting. I wake up, I brush my teeth, I pray that I remember to put on deodorant, I go to work, and I am attending one college class. I have two loving parents who have been married for 24 years, I have a little brother, and I have a long-distance boyfriend. I am a church-goer and I do believe that there is a God and that He loves me, but I am not particularly religious. Religion has done nothing but lock people into one routine after another that ultimately does nothing to touch the lives of others.

Now that I have outlined the basics of how truly unspectacular my life is, I shall write until my pretty-little-heart is content.

I had my very first college class yesterday, and I was very pleased with how everything turned out. The instructor was very encouraging and helpful; she gave me a sense of excitement and a desire to learn what she had to teach. The other students were a diverse group, all very sociable and driven to accomplish something. Also, yesterday happened to be a year exactly from my first day at the job that I love. This job has truly been an answer to my prayers. Experiencing the growth that has affected me while I have worked there is incredible. Every day I learn something new and insightful, or something I never thought I would know. I interned for a year and a half without pay before I got the job, to learn more about how it worked and see if I really wanted to go for it. I have never doubted my decision to apply, and I am loving every minute of my time there. I feel so blessed to have a job I had only dreamed of having as a child, and I hope I will never fall into the slump of taking my job for granted like so many people do.

I am so lucky to have the amazingly intelligent, talented, and beautiful friends and family that I have!

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Living Like Neanderthals

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,643 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


