Living Like Neanderthals

September 23, 2010 at 9:32 PM Leave a comment

This morning hit me like a balloon popping in my face, and I was up and out of my house in all of twenty-five minutes. I don’t remember what I was dreaming about, but it was pulling me so far into my sleeping world that when my alarm clock screamed into my ear I quite literally jumped out of bed and forgot the whole thing. In a flurry I started my morning routine by putting my iPhone’s music list on shuffle at full volume (I was most definitely not using headphones) while I found my neatly laid out wardrobe selection and brushed my hair. I gazed into my sleepy reflection and decided to take an extra minute to apply mascara so I might seem more awake. Brushing my teeth was pretty standard, and I grabbed a cup of cheerios to go and found my packed lunch and dinner by the front door with my book for class and my purse. I am sure I was caught up with a few other things this morning, but it feels a world away and I am not going to bother myself with remembering those things. 

Today while at work we experienced plenty of interesting surprises. Two that stick out in my head were when we lost water for an hour, and when the computer system went down about half an hour before we closed. The lack of water was a spectacle of sorts; we made signs, had to get a gallon of water so we could make Kool-Aid for the homeschool program that was starting in less than half an hour, and even found ourselves pulling patrons into the back who had soap on their hands before reading the signs we made so we could assist them in washing the soap off their hands with one of the jugs of water. It was much like camping, and I found the whole thing wildly amusing. The system that we use to check materials in and out and browse patron records decided to go down as well, which was an adventure in and of itself. Luckily we knew what we needed to do in that situation and it was handled well. We were almost pre-historic at the library today (all fun of course!). 

Class went exceptionally well today; I was very intrigued by a lot of what we talked about, and things we learned. We watched a clip from “How Art Made The World” and it was simply breathtaking for me. Growing up I was always seeing references to pre-historic people (“cave men” or “neanderthals”) and their art that I simply brushed off as cave drawings, nothing more than something like the art of a child. I was fascinated by the simplistic beauty, and even the paint and different colors that were found in caves. Even more than my excitement by how beautiful the art really was, my eyes were once again opened to how little I know about the world and it’s history. Cave drawings were discovered in Autumn 1879 by a 9 year old girl named Maria while she was exploring Altamira with her father, amateur archeologist and Spanish nobleman Marcelino Sanz de Sautuloa. While he knew that these exceptional works of art were surely pre-historic still others claimed it could be nothing more than fraud, and he was either the victim or the culprit. Sanz de Sautuloa stood by his decision and ultimately died without getting to see numerous other caves with similar forms of art all over the world. It was determined that these cave drawings were authentically pre-historic after all! I really have a lot to learn and I am very excited about it. 

Image found on http://kids.inmatlock.com :)

Isn't it beautiful?

There was something pure about the cave art, perhaps because it was around before all of the propaganda of money and media and politics. Possibly it was so pure because it was hidden away so deep in the caves, or maybe the narrow locations for the art was just to protect it from weather damage. Pablo Picaso said in reference to the cave art, “We have learned nothing.” I believe that is true, and I greatly desire to learn as much as I can. 

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

The First Misadventure Something FUNNY! This Way Comes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


