TODAY IS THE DAY

November 15, 2010 at 11:25 AM 4 comments

And yeah, it’s kind of a big one; for me anyway. I am so excited. I have been waiting for this day to get here like a 15 year old boy waits for their next birthday. Only I have wanted it more than that 15 year old boy wants to be able to drive. 🙂 I hope it’s wonderful!

—— 8:30 PM EDIT ——

So, today I drove an hour for my very first voice lesson EVER. I have wanted voice lessons for so long, but I never thought I would actually get to experience them. 🙂 To make it even sweeter, somehow I ended up being blessed enough to get lessons from one of my biggest musical inspirations. I have attended Pam Noah concerts since I was a very young girl, in fact the first concert I ever went to was a Pam Noah concert. I have always thought she has a very powerful and beautiful voice, so I am very pleased to be getting lessons from her. If I end up being able to sing half as well as she sings, I will be elated.

Today while I was in the lesson she said something that inspired me to draw this picture. I am so excited to practice what she taught me, and what we worked on in the lesson. Hopefully I go back and she is pleased with my efforts. Also, I hope that when she sees this drawing of mine it makes her smile. Or at least it doesn’t make her think I am making fun of her. I hope.

It's just a sketch, and hopefully I will get to color it soon. :):)

 

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

A Glimmer of Peace Stereo Love Love Love :o

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathryn  |  December 4, 2010 at 5:04 AM

    I would LOVE to have vocal coaching! I know I don’t have a fantastic voice, but I have a good sense of pitch (10 years of violin lessons have seen to that!) And I have always loved singing!
    Alas, I believe my singing will forever be restricted to the confinements of the shower 🙂

    Kat Xx

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  December 4, 2010 at 9:21 AM

      I know how you feel. I grew up playing the piano and taking lessons for that, trombone, and I am a self-taught guitarist. The pitch comes second nature to me, it is just making sure I control my voice to do it right. And breathing the correct way. It is really fun so far! You play the violin? I am jealous. I have always wanted to play the electric violin… But I already have too many expensive hobbies that I barely have time for.

      Reply
      • 3. Kathryn  |  December 6, 2010 at 3:50 AM

        I bought a guitar last year with the intention to learn but I haven’t got round to it yet! I had piano lessons for about 4 years, but I gave up about 3 years ago! Sad times! Too many exams at school etc etc!
        I was in an electric string orchestra for a while 🙂 that was cool 😀
        Time management with hobbies is always an issue! At the end of the day you just have to decide what’s more important and prioritise! 🙂
        Trombone sounds fun!

        Kat Xx

      • 4. Heather  |  December 6, 2010 at 1:27 PM

        Yeah, I had to give up Piano after four years too, but I think I gave it up six years ago. 😦 I still play on my own though, with or without lessons. And playing trombone in band was really fun because there was only one other trombone player. We were pretty close way back then in elementary.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


