Being thankful, and meaning it…

November 24, 2010 at 6:36 PM Leave a comment

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving, also lovingly called “Turkey Day” (something I rarely call it since I do not like Turkey very much anyhow). I have so much to be thankful for, it is ridiculous! And yet, I find myself being frustrated, crying, or wondering “WHY” I can’t have everything I want. It really seems like in my life I have become so focused on myself and my own dreams and needs that I have forgotten about the people around me. I have been inspired a lot lately by a lot of blogs, a lot of loving people, my small group, and certain events in my life and the lives of others around me. I have been inspired to not just LIVE in LOVE, but to help other people live in love too.

Sometimes in my own little world I still forget about how lucky I have it though, and I take everything for granted. Tonight, the evening before Thanksgiving, I am reminded how truly blessed I am. I was driving home from work in the rain, excited about movie night with my family since we haven’t had much time to watch movies together lately. It was cold, wet, and dark outside. While I was driving down the stretch of road that goes through the middle of town I saw two people walking. They were wearing very light clothing, and jackets that did not look warm at all. At first glance I thought they were young teenagers caught in the rain and walking home, so I pulled over to the side of the road and waited as they approached my vehicle.

I was wrong, they were not teenagers. Two adult women looking tired, thin, and fragile came up to my vehicle and I opened the door to them. My heart ached and I asked them if they needed a ride somewhere. The first woman said “Oh, yes, PLEASE. Where are you going?”

 I smiled and asked “Where do you need to go?”

The answer I got back was not what I was expecting, as it was an hour away driving distance and these women were walking there. I looked at my gas tank and saw that I was low on gas, and my family was waiting for me at home. I compromised in my head that I could take these women across town to the UDF where they could get out of the cold, and potentially meet somebody who could get them where they needed to go. They were so thankful they repeated their thanks over, and over, and over again. My head started to swell, and I just smiled at them, remembering that this was not about me. One of the ladies said “Hallelujah, there ARE still good people in the world!”

I felt drawn to helping these women, and I couldn’t help but ask where they were headed to. The answer that they gave sent my head into a spin, and I do not feel comfortable blogging about it here, but it was not what I expected to hear from anyone that I picked up to take somewhere. I realized then how lucky I am, how blessed I am, and how hidden away from pain and struggles I am. These two women, whatever they might be into in their lives, were angels sent to remind me to care for others. I dropped them off and asked if they needed anything else, wished them good luck and a Happy Thanksgiving, and told them that God was always there for them.

The second woman smiled and said “I’ve found faith.”

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

CHANGE Thankfully Humbled (via )

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


