Does it really make a difference what I do?

December 2, 2010 at 5:02 PM 3 comments

Does what I do matter?”

What purpose could I serve to the world?”

Who cares if I don’t do my best? It won’t make a difference anyway…”

I am not important enough, so why bother?

I have already screwed up too badly, I can’t fix it.

Before I go any further, I have to tell you that I absolutely love my job. It is the best job that I could have at this time in my life, and I am thankful for it on a daily basis. For those who do not know what I do, I work part-time at a small little library that is closely located to where I am attending college.  This job is so wonderful because it is very community-based, but also because of all the different things to learn I am exposed to. There is always something waiting for me to discover it on a shelf, sometimes I pass by that something fifty times before it catches my eye exactly at the moment I need it most. Other times it is handed directly to me by a patron who is returning it explaining how wonderful it is, or how they did not care for it. Sometimes I pick it up from the drop-box, or unpack it from cargo.

With this particular item I was shelving books on my usual route, and I saw a book in the new section of the biographies that caught my eye. This book is called “The Other Wes Moore” written by Wes Moore. What caught my attention were the words I read below the title. “ONE NAME, TWO FATES The chilling truth is that his story could have been mine. The tragedy is that my story could have been his.”

Then I noticed the cover of the book. It was the same side of the street mirroring itself, but one was in color and the other was in black and white. I have not read all of this book, and I may not read the whole thing (that is the downfall with working in a library, wanting to read everything and not always having the time to do it). I am not necessarily promoting the book, and I am not at all saying I agree with it (after all I haven’t read the entire thing). What I do want to do is share a quote from this book.

Perhaps the most surprising thing I discovered was that through the stories we volleyed back and forth in letters and over the metal divider of the prison’s visiting room, Wes and I had indeed, as Wideman wrote, “collapsed the distance” between our worlds. We definitely have our disagreements– and Wes, it should never be forgotten, is in prison for his participation in a heinous crime. But even the worst decisions we make don’t necessarily remove us from the circle of humanity. Wes’s desire to participate in this book as a way to help others learn from his story and choose a different way is proof of that.  -Wes Moore

I will admit that for the purpose of this blog that quote may be a little extreme, but isn’t that the truth? No matter what we do, no matter how good or how horrible, as long as we are alive we will always be a part of humanity. Somehow, in the biggest or smallest form, WE are contributors to society! Every choice we make, every set of words we say, everything we create in our lives, can make a difference. In fact, I venture to say that it WILL make a difference, even if it is not always a difference that we can see. Sometimes it is a difference you feel, or you may not even feel it at all. You just have to believe that it is out there.

You have the power inside you to make choices every day. You have the choice to think positively, or to think negatively. You have the choice to do your best, or to stop trying. You have the choice to help others, or to hurt them. I hope that if you have ever thought any of those thoughts I opened this blog with that you and I together can change our mindsets. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we thought these thoughts instead?

It does matter, and I matter.”

I may not be able to change the world, but I can help my neighbor.”

Things that I do and say can make a difference, I just have to try.”

I am important to society, even if it is only in a small way.”

No matter how badly I have screwed up, I have the power inside me to change things.”

Just some food for thought!

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Small Group A face, or my attempt at one.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Making a Difference | World of Possibility  |  December 3, 2010 at 7:38 AM

    […] by Girl Undiscovered, visit for a while and engage in a discussion about the meaning of community and our place in it. […]

    Reply
  • 2. starrlife  |  December 4, 2010 at 9:01 AM

    Over from Candee… are you really a young woman? With the wisdom and wordsmithing of someone older it seems. Thanks for an ode to difference and community that is beautiful from another mother of a child with Down Syndrome.

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  December 4, 2010 at 9:24 AM

      Thank you very much for the kind words. 🙂 I am often told that I am wise beyond my few years (only 19 of them). I am glad you stopped by my blog, I will have to swing by yours sometime. I may have already, but I am unsure. Community and acceptance are vitally important to me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


