116.4, 7, and 19 are my favorite numbers. :)

December 5, 2010 at 7:45 PM 4 comments

Well, I am so proud of myself! I passed my Art History class, and I loved every minute of it. 😀
———————–

Okay, so if you do not already know, I love photography. Photography is something I have always loved, and has been a favorite hobby of mine since I was a young child. I was always snatching other people’s cameras and taking pictures of anything I could find. I’m probably the reason that people invented Digital Cameras because I wasted a lot of film (although, if you ask me, I never wasted a single shot!). Once they came out with digital cameras I was beyond excited about it. “You mean I can really take as many pictures as I want?” OH yeah. Life became good. There was only one little problem… I did not have a digital camera (or any camera that wasn’t disposable for that matter). Mom had a film camera, and Dad had an SLR (it’s a Nikon, he still has it!). I wanted so badly to have a digital camera that I worked hard to save money until I bought my first ever camera, a Kodak EasyShare C643.

Kodak EasyShare C643

 I still have the box and everything that came with it, even though I no longer have the camera. 😛 I remember picking it out diligently, believing that it was the best camera in the whole world. It could not be beat. It was 6.0 megapixel for goodness sake! AND IT WAS DIGITAL! And most importantly, it was mine. It had a video setting too, which I abused regularly with my best friend Annie. Actually, Annie and I beat this little camera to it’s death from all of the use in general. There were days that Annie and I would fill two memory cards, around 800+ pictures and maybe a ten minute video or two, in about two hours flat. We carried it around in the rain, snow, 98 degree weather, and probably almost dropped it in her lake twice. It’s possible her dog had licked it, and her cat pawed at it. That camera frequented horse barns, backseats of cars, stores, crazy awesome old houses, and cornfields. We pretended to be magical-pirate-hunting-pirates with that camera in our hands, and captured the whole thing on video only to let myself lose it two years later. That little baby, even though it wasn’t as pretty as some of my other friend’s colorful cameras, was the very beginning of my photography journey. I almost (and that is a big almost) miss it. To this day even my current camera is not colorful, funky, small, or “chic”, but it does what I need it to do, and I love it.

An example of my Kodak EasyShare C643 photography from back in the day. 😉

 Somewhere along my photography journey my Grandpa Drew let me use his Nikon dSLR. “You mean I’m allowed to touch it? I can take pictures? It’s DIGITAL?” I fell in love instantly! It was hook, line, and sinker- my heart was captured by a box that catches light and creates beautiful art and memories. I became addicted to the functioning mechanics of the body of the camera, and the lenses. I researched shutter speed, aperture, and ISO. I discovered information about nifty things like a diopter, focus points, and the difference between 35mm & 100mm. I was in seventh heaven, and I was constantly digging for more information about these wonderful cameras. Up until I had already gotten my current camera I was self-taught with the help of many online resources and books from the local libraries. I didn’t even have a dSLR and I could tell you how to achieve beautiful depth of field. I  was  am a junkie. You bet your life at every family holiday that was held at Gram and Drew’s house I was almost immediately asking for permission to use ‘THE camera‘.

An example of my Kodak EasyShare C643 photography from back in the day. 😉

After I had been introduced to Drew’s dSLR my little point and shoot just didn’t seem to meet my standards anymore. I became frustrated that even when I pushed the little silver lightbox to it’s max it didn’t deliver what I wanted from it. I was constantly let down, trying to get the best images I could from my camera that only had automatic functions. I was left with almost no creative liberties, and the camera was constantly overriding my idea of good settings. The most creative I could get was putting the camera on portrait mode at a sports game, night portrait in broad daylight, and after I had already taken the picture using Adobe Photoshop for editing. I wanted more than it could give me, and that is when I new it was time to start hunting and saving for my next camera.

An example of my Kodak EasyShare C643 photography from back in the day. 😉

I still didn’t know if I would get a Nikon or a Canon, but I knew I was getting one of those. And I was getting a dSLR, because it would be the camera to have the features I was looking for. The problem with Drew’s Nikon was that it felt clunky in my child-size hands. Even now, at 19 years old, my hands are still very small. I wear children’s gloves with monkeys and bananas on them because they fit the best (if I wear gloves at all, because generally I do not like to. I feel claustrophobic in them). One day I was up visiting Annie in L-town and her photographer friend Ali was over. Ali had her BRAND NEW Canon EOS Digital Rebel with her. It was beautiful (to me), lightweight, and much more compact than Drew’s Nikon. I was so pleased with the camera I decided then and there that I was a Canon person. I hold no grudges to Nikon, and I am fully aware of how splendid the photographs are that can be taken with them, but I am a Canon user at heart. I mean, c’mon, I’m artsy fartsy and Rebel was right there in the name. If they took equally great pictures in my opinion, it was going to be something shallow like that for winning me over.

 

An example of my Kodak EasyShare C643 photography from back in the day. 😉

 

Now I knew that I was going to get a Canon, but I had to be wise about my decision. I didn’t have unlimited funds, and it took me a long time to save much of any money because I wasn’t making a lot (I still am not, really, in fact I am making less). I also wanted the specs to be high quality. After much searching and saving I ended up purchasing the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi and I love it. I have three lenses for it, the kit lens, a 70mm-300mm telephoto, and a 50mm 1.4 (my personal favorite that stays on the camera body almost always). Don’t get me wrong, I love this camera, and it has been great to me. I still plan on keeping it and using  it for as long as it will let me. But I will be getting a second camera as soon as financial situations allow me to, and the XSi will become my backup. All the pros say you should have at least one backup if you plan on going professional at all.

I will be getting the Canon EOS 7D. Feast your eyes on these awesome (albeit geeky) videos. The first is a video talking about the NINETEEN (19, 19, 19!!!) Auto-Focus points that the 7D has. The next two videos are sample videos that have been shot using the 7D. Yes, the 7D will record HD video. On the second video I put on here you’ll have to click the link to watch the video from the official site. I reccomend doing that because the imagery in the video is beautiful in some of the parts! It was filmed in Venice, Italy.

http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/samples/eos7d/player_passage/movie.html?low

Click the above link to watch the second video. ^^^^^^^^^^

Below is a sample image of a photograph taken with the Canon 7D.

This photograph is from Canon's website. Click the image to go to the page I got it from.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Photography. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

But what about forgiveness? Crossing the line between vulnerability and brutality?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathryn  |  December 6, 2010 at 3:42 AM

    Congratulation for passing Art History!
    You sound so passionate about photography and cameras! I still have my first digital camera that I had about 5/6 years ago! Sony Cybershot 6mp 🙂 does the job for me! I love taking photographs or well, just about everything documenting life and such! That’s why I started me blog really! So I can look back in years to come and have something to remind me!
    Heehee, I love the photos! It’s always fun looking at old photos of yourself to see how much you’ve changed!

    Kat Xx

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  December 6, 2010 at 1:24 PM

      Definitely, that is one of my favorite parts of photography. :] I really think that one of my biggest influences in photography when I was about 14-17 was fashion photography. I still love fashion photography, but now I am leaning toward just capturing art in general and feeling an honesty through my photography.

      Reply
  • 3. starrlife  |  December 7, 2010 at 8:53 AM

    Congrats! I have to come back and read this post more closely but it sounds so interesting and en pointe for me! Thanks.

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  December 7, 2010 at 12:12 PM

      ^_^ No problem. Thank you for reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,643 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


