Community Still Exists!

December 10, 2010 at 12:18 AM 2 comments

I am truly blessed. Even in times that are hard, I am surrounded by love and compassion all around me. Some people have fears that community is dying, but I believe it is still there, somewhere. A very dear inspiration of mine created a work of art that I feel belongs in this post. She titled that piece “Love is a Way of Knowing”, and that is so true.

"Love is a Way of Knowing" by Candee Basford (click the image to go to her website! I highly reccomend it!)

The love in our little community is growing every day. Sometimes we might forget we have each other, but when things start getting tough our true colors of support shine through. I am so thankful for this community of willing and kind-hearted people of all ages and walks of life. 

Things have been a bit harder than usual on my family lately. This past summer has been filled with more frustration, sadness, work, and trial & error than any summer that I can remember. But it has also been filled with love, compassion, strength, and community. The further into the winter season we have gotten, the stronger in my belief that community does still exist I become. 

At the beginning of December we finally had the chimney fixed and the tree that was growing out of it removed. The cracks running along our ceiling are almost repaired. The second bathroom (the one upstairs) is finally being redone after 16 years of being blocked off. Our house is a disaster of a construction zone! But it is incredible because for so long we have not been able to remodel anything because of our severe asthma problems. 

Since the remodeling project began this month Mom started noticing her allergies flaring up and asked Gram if we could stay at her house while our house is “fixed”. She said it would not be a problem at all, so we packed a few “necessities” (yeah, my computer stayed home 😦 ) and drove the block or two to my Grammie’s house. It’s not a far commute at all, which is good because I frequently drop by and visit and I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t.

The first night was uneventful, and I woke up and left for work. Upon returning home (well, returning to Gram’s) I checked Facebook on my phone. I was struck with a sense of warmth when I saw that my youth minister’s wife (and very good friend) who lives down the street from my Gram was checking on us. She wrote me a little note, simply stating: “is everything okay with your family? I drove by your Grandma’s house and all the cars were still there…”

I responded that it was kind of a long story, but that everything was fine. Shortly after that I was discussing her kindness with my parents, and Dad said that the neighbor asked if everything with Gram was okay. The next morning another neighbor had called, just to make sure everything was alright. 

Community does exist!! You never know what simple thing that you could do will touch somebody. Just smile at strangers, hold open doors, wave at the neighbors when you walk or drive by. Love just knows! The only thing that love does not know, is boundaries. There are no bounds to love!

Tonight was especially difficult for me, as this morning my mother had surgery and therapy, and after I got home from work and was taking my turn to keep an eye on her she was working diligently on her required exercises. That in itself was not the hardest part. Keeping an eye on her was simple. Until she started to cry. Watching my mother, the absolute strongest woman I know, walking her arm up the wall and fighting back tears because of the pain and what I can only guess was humiliation of not being able to do a simple thing, and seeing her push through the tears to accomplish it hit me to the core.

 I have seen my Gram through a stroke and several heart attacks and a car accident, I have laid in a hospital bed unable to breathe, I have seen my little brother fall halfway out of a window, and I have gone to more funerals than weddings. I have not ached more in my life than when I see my mother cry. Even hearing her cry, I feel this ache in my heart and this desire to comfort her. Anything to make her pain go away.

Knowing that there is a community out there, praying for our family, and loving people, helps give me the strength to be strong for my mother. 

The funniest part about everything is that Mom doesn’t want anyone feeling sorry for her, EVER, so she makes it seem like no big deal. She can go around town and a lot of people still don’t know a lot of what she has had to go through in her life… But somehow, love always knows and without saying a word people are always there exactly when they are needed. 

Maybe this is why I feel such a strong desire to help others in simple ways. Maybe this is why I always have a hug for people who are willing to take it. 

Love one another, lift each other up, and do not be afraid to encourage somebody. I am so encouraged to know that there is so much love out there.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Art, Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

SNOW! =) I only like it because it’s pretty. Running out of time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. earthymind  |  December 10, 2010 at 2:07 AM

    nice blog…loved your ‘you can find me’ section!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  December 10, 2010 at 12:28 PM

      Thank you very much. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


