Winter Solstice Lighting

December 22, 2010 at 1:48 PM 10 comments

Me, proudly sporting my faerie wings while trying to keep my candle lit as I walk.

This was one of the most amazing experiences in my life. It was very surreal, very cold, and very positive and loving. Friends and strangers from the area came together the night before the Winter Solstice to light “the serpent” with 900 candles, and everybody was lighting their candle for a different reason. They were lighting candles to remember, lighting candles to honor, lighting candles to bring hope, and there were no judgements. One woman lit her candles in honor of a local boy who was killed overseas and all the other men and women fighting to keep us safe. Another woman chose to light her candle in a prayer that we could restore health to Mother Earth. One little boy was so excited that he got to hold a real candle with a real fire, and he was lighting his candle so that all the superheros would keep us safe.

As I lit a candle a photographer took my picture, ... must have been because of the wings.

I lit my candle in hopes that people around the world recognize the power of a true, loving, honest community. I lit another candle for a very special family in hopes that they get what they need most this Christmas season. I lit one and said a prayer to God to watch over all of these people on their travels home this evening. And finally, it might be wishful thinking, but I lit a candle in hopes that a very dear friend in Heaven might see it and smile.

There were several people gathered, of many different backgrounds and views.

Lots of lights, and lots of love.

Everyone there was totally accepting of my crazy decision to wear faerie wings. They did not look down on me, roll their eyes at me, or laugh at me. In fact, many people would smile at me and compliment my wings. πŸ™‚ I felt so comfortable, just being myself, waltzing around feeling like magic was floating in the air around me. One woman said “I knew the faerie princess would come tonight,” before she embraced me in a very happy hug; another woman gave me a string of beads; and a little girl hid shyly behind her mother’s legs and pointed at my wings, asking her mom if I was a real faerie. It was as if people forgot for one night their insecurities, their problems, and their fears and they just loved.

The sunset, it was beautiful...

In the magic of the night, I attempted to fly. It didn't quite work, but can you blame me?

The lit candles were breathtaking in the snow. πŸ™‚

I will remember this night fondly, and I wonder how much I will grow before next year. Only time will tell I suppose. It was a great finishing touch to a fabulous weekend.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Whirlwind, strikes again. A Walk in my Shoes

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn Rae  |  December 22, 2010 at 6:15 PM

    Your wings are so cute! I truly adore your style. And I love that you lit a candle for your friend in Heaven–I’m sure they will see it πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  December 22, 2010 at 6:21 PM

      Thank you, and I am pretty sure she will see it too. πŸ˜€ I also love my style, ha ha! You have a great sense of style yourself though, in case you have forgotten Jaclyn!

      Reply
  • 3. starrlife  |  December 22, 2010 at 8:25 PM

    Oh Heather- you would fit in perfectly in Brattleboro/VT! Love the wings and sneaker combo BTW. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and yours- on Earth or in Heaven!

    Reply
  • 4. Heather  |  December 22, 2010 at 8:55 PM

    Thank you, Starrlife! :] Wings and sneakers are some of my favorite favorite favorite things… -sings- I hope you have a MARVELOUS Christmas and THE BEST NEW YEAR EVER~! πŸ˜›

    My itty-bitty town has a population of 3,398, ha ha ha… and where my mom grew up the population is currently 1,817 which is actually a 4.5% increase since the year 2000. Wahoo middle of nowhere! ;] I kinda love it though.

    Reply
  • 5. Candee Basford  |  December 23, 2010 at 10:15 AM

    What a joy to read this and to see these images. Your wings! How fantastic.

    I wanted to be there so much but we were just too busy finishing up a major project. However, through your generosity I feel as though I have experienced the serpent lighting.

    Thank you.

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  December 23, 2010 at 10:56 AM

      You are very welcome, Candee. πŸ˜‰ And there is next year to look forward to.

      I am glad I could allow you to experience the lighting through my blog. Ahhh, that is the entire reason I blog. To share feelings and experiences with others.

      I feel a great wave of success right about now.

      Reply
  • 7. Paulette  |  December 24, 2010 at 12:21 PM

    I am sorry I missed the event at Serpent Mound. I had every intention to go, but a commitment to friends was more important. I enjoyed your photos, and it makes me even more sorry that I didn’t go. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • 8. Heather  |  December 25, 2010 at 6:23 PM

      You are oh-so-welcome, my lovely. πŸ™‚ I completely understand about having commitments. And besides, friends are very important!

      Reply
  • 9. eric preston  |  December 25, 2010 at 10:17 PM

    What an amazing adventure you have stubble upon! Heather, if you can find a way to fly, you can be free!!! Life is so about keeping us grounded, following the status quote and doing what we are “supposed” to do, that we miss our opportunity to fly. Good for you! You were beautiful in wings and sneakers and I am so very glad that candee shared with me. LIVE EVERY DAY TO IT’S FULLEST BECAUSE THAT IS ALL WE HAVE!!!

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  December 25, 2010 at 11:11 PM

      Yes, it was AMAZING. πŸ˜€ I am definitely going to do my best to go back next year too. I have never been one to stick to the “status quo” haha. ;P Thank you, I felt very beautiful in my wings and sneakers. ^_^ I’m kind of a crazy one… but I love me for it! Give Heather a big hug for me, and man I miss you guys! I miss everyone so much. Ha ha!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm RenΓ©e, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


