New Year’s Eve

December 31, 2010 at 10:58 AM 4 comments

Today is New Year’s Eve where I am from and in my cultural beliefs, for anyone who might not know. I like to celebrate New Year’s Eve as a day of remembering your favorite moments of the previous year, but also to look ahead and really accept change and growth that are inevitable. New Year’s Eve means so much more than just staying up late, partying with your friends, and coming up with some rigid scheme to improve yourself. Sure, I always end up doing those things– I just think there is more to it than that. I think that it is a great time to reflect on who you have been, and be excited about who you will be.

I know I am very excited about the upcoming year. I have so many amazing things in store! I have a couple new classes to attend, I am still going to be taking voice lessons, and I will be given so many opportunities to grow and improve that I couldn’t possibly plan them TONIGHT. I mean, I could try. I could say, “I want to improve my guitar playing again, get back to where I used to be.” I could plan for that, and I could succeed. But what if I am given an opportunity to do something incredible that would take away from my guitar playing? Something that would change my life that I never saw coming? Suppose I would jump at the chance and try to work on my guitar playing on the side.

Let’s face it, we could all use improvement. Nobody is perfect, everybody has issues they want to work through. I say that we take this night as an opportunity to be happy as we are, right now. The person that the past years have shaped us into, a strong and intelligent person capable of tackling a new year.

I filmed that quick video with my brand new Canon EOS 7D, handheld. All but adding the credits, merging the clips, and muting/slowing down the last clip this is all straight out of camera (including the audio). Sorry about the dog whining.  It was my first “real” attempt at creating something with my new camera, and I think it turned out pretty well considering I just got the camera yesterday right before I left for work. It is quite shaky at a little bit of it, and I am changing the focus a lot for “practice”, but it isn’t the worst video I’ve ever made. Ha ha… that was kind of a joke, since it’s the only one (excluding un-published and lost videos from my point & shoot several years ago).

I am very excited about my day ahead, since I get to travel to see my best friend. I haven’t seen this girl in ages, since she left for college, and I miss her a lot. Ring in your New Year with love and positivity and gratitude.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

It’s Christmas, Christmas! Kitty Photography! :)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. starrlife  |  January 1, 2011 at 8:04 AM

    Oooh! Lucky gal with a new toy! I too got my new toy and am playing with it a lot! Love the whining!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 1, 2011 at 7:33 PM

      That dog, OHH that dog. She is one of my many pleasures in life, and unfortunately she isn’t mine. But I make sure to go play with her whenever I get the chance, and I am the first one they call to walk her or to dogsit. And yes, I love my new toy! What did you get Starrlife? ^_^ Inquiring minds (or mind, mine) want(s) to know.

      Reply
  • 3. earthymind  |  January 1, 2011 at 1:04 PM

    Im going to get back to my guitar for sure this year…def.!!

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  January 1, 2011 at 7:34 PM

      Yeah, I love playing the guitar… but mine for some reason won’t stay in tune anymore, no matter what I do, for more than a couple hours. 😦 It’s depressing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,641 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


