When you acknowledge how mean you come across, it sounds silly.

January 8, 2011 at 5:45 PM 7 comments

So, a couple of days ago I was in a really sour mood. I blogged about my stresses, and I even went as far as to address a very specific to-remain-nameless person on my blog. But I still have SO much to be thankful for. I am thankful for everyone who has ever helped me grow, including the person that has hurt me so much since mid-2010.

You see, before this person started making it hard for me to sleep at night she helped me out a lot. I looked up to her, and I learned things I should and should not do from her. Partly from watching and evaluating my OWN decisions, and partly from recieving some good advice. Just because things have changed in the dynamic, I still appreciate the history I have with her. The history we have makes the strained relationship that much harder, but I wouldn’t trade it.

And the other day, I grew even more because of this person. This person was publicly rude to my mother, and I wanted to hurt her with my words. I was very close to telling her something very negative and hateful, but I remembered a very valuable lesson. A lesson that she made absolutely certain I learned over the summer and into this year– there are some things that you think are good ideas, but when they hurt somebody badly enough they are very hard to take back.

So I didn’t say anything mean after all.

And you know, I feel really good. For a while I was frustrated about not being able to “get her back”, but I appreciate myself so much more for being my best person. I could have easily been a very nasty person, but I don’t need to PROVE how mean I can be.

I realized how stupid that sounded in my head, so I decided that even if I didn’t have anything nice to say, I did not need to be rude either.

Next time you feel like being negative, think a few times about this sentence: “Yes! I am going to show everyone how nasty I am, and I will definitely make friends that way!”

When you realize how ridiculous that sounds, try your best not to be mean, and thank yourself for it later.

I actually still regret blogging what I blogged a couple days ago, but I can’t take it back.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Apologize to Myself The Hardest Thing is Not Being Able to Walk Away (song lyrics I wrote)

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. missaannissa  |  January 8, 2011 at 6:49 PM

    I am in LOVE with this post. Like, in love with it. I have a hard time being a bigger person. When someone burns me or something a simple as a rude receptionist, I have a hard time keeping quiet. If I do keep quiet, I stew about it which makes me twice as mad and it takes twice as long to let it go and move on. You are right though, by showing everyone you can be mean, doesn’t show anyone, anything, except that you can be mean!

    Great words of wisdom, I think I will take this advice next time! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 8, 2011 at 8:44 PM

      A wise old woman (my Dad’s mother) once told another wise old woman (my mother) that 90% of the time when somebody (especially a stranger) is rude to you that they are not really mad at you. Sometimes they have had a hard time with something or someone, and you are the next person they come into contact with. Because they couldn’t take out their frustration on what/who they were frustrated with, they often take it out on the next person they talk to or see.

      But yes, it is VERY hard. Very hard indeed.

      Reply
  • 3. missaannissa  |  January 8, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    PS: My favorite color is purple, I love music, I love photography and I believe that people are always evolving into someone new each day. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. lolalili  |  January 8, 2011 at 8:06 PM

    Hope I learn this lesson very quickly!!! I can be lethal

    Reply
    • 5. Miss Niss  |  January 9, 2011 at 11:12 PM

      @lolalili,

      Me too! I scare myself sometimes ha!

      Reply
  • 6. Miss Niss  |  January 10, 2011 at 10:32 PM

    Update: I had someone make a really nasty comment to me and instead of snapping back with something equally mean and hurtful…I smiled and let it go. Gotta tell ya, instead of spending the next 2 hours dwelling over it…I feel pretty good just not saying anything!

    Thought of you!
    -Annissa

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  January 10, 2011 at 10:52 PM

      Aww, thank you for letting me know this! It is so encouraging and reassuring to know that I am not totally useless on the internet. ^_^ I am very glad that you feel good about yourself for not saying anything. It’s actually quite liberating, because then you just quit stewing on it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


