Is it the plague? [Coughing, Wheezing, and Running Noses]

January 12, 2011 at 11:49 PM 1 comment

I feel like I got hit by a train.

No, WAIT.

I feel like it would feel better to get hit by a train.

I haven’t really had much of a chance to blog here lately, because I have been remarkably ill since Saturday. 😥 I haven’t had a lick of trouble with my asthma since Jr. High School and suddenly it popped out of nowhere like a ghost train to deadsville. I woke up Saturday morning and I literally found myself gasping for oxygen and fighting to hold onto my breaths long enough to call in sick and get some medicine into my system so I could breathe again and sleep all day.

I absolutely hate this feeling. The feeling that every breath I breathe feels like it is igniting a fire in my lungs. The fear that any moment I could stop breathing. I hate all the congestion, the coughing, the runny nose, and the aching.

I started feeling better on Monday, so yesterday I went to work thinking I could just fight through the last of it and everything would be on it’s merry way. I made it through the work day, came home, went to sleep, and woke up feeling worse again this morning. I tried going to work anyway, but eventually my manager and I mutually decided that I should go home early and rest. I was scheduled for tomorrow too, but I called in because I feel even worse than I was feeling this afternoon.

I am tired of movies. I was tired of watching movies after the third movie. Normally I am NOT the sort of person that sits and watches TV or movies throughout the day, so I felt like a great big bowl of grumpy oatmeal. I might watch a few episodes of my favorite show within a couple weeks, but I generally don’t have the time for it. I would rather draw, read, write, photograph, or create music. Unfortunately, I haven’t exactly been able to create music because I can’t sustain a breath long enough to hold a good note, and I’m all hoarse anyway. I can’t really “read” how I like to because I keep having to stop to blow my nose or cough and I hate to get phlegm all over my reading material. Plus I hate having to “stop and go” when I read. If I draw something, you’d better hope that I can feel the cough coming on before it hits or it’s GOODBYE neat clean lines, hello GIANT SCRIBBLE STRAIGHT THROUGH MY ARTWORK.

I can write, but mom has been trying to keep an eye on me so I’m not often allowed upstairs to my computer and I hate blogging from my phone unless it’s something that is really pressing on my mind. After long enough of writing by hand, I end up feeling like I am gonna have a bad case of carpal tunnel. And I haven’t been allowed outside in the good lighting long enough to photograph much of anything.

HOWEVER, I have captured two good photographs (ish) since I have been sick. The first one I am dedicating to Jaclyn Rae for being my 100th commenter (ha ha ha ha, I love it!). It’s really kind of a graphic that I think she’d like, but I took the photograph myself and then edited it.

And this one, well, it’s just freakin’ adorable!

Hopefully I get 100% better very soon. I hate not being able to breathe right.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Photography. Tags: , , , , .

20 Things You Should Know The Big Smiling Oath

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. SURYA  |  January 13, 2011 at 4:49 AM

    Ur click is awesome though u r sick…Hope u will recover quickly..May God heal u

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


