Life Without Facebook: The End of the World as I Know It

February 18, 2011 at 6:11 PM 4 comments

About three weeks ago I deactivated my Facebook account.

I am not one hundred percent sure exactly when I deactivated it, I just know that it was on a Wednesday night and it has been less than a month. It has been less than a month since the fateful night I made the decision to cut my ties with Facebook, and already it is the end of the world as I know it. I am constantly saying “If I still had a Facebook, this would be my status,” and “Oh I will upload these to… nothing…” or “Yeah, I have a, um, an e-mail address.”

I could not be any happier! Seriously, I couldn’t. But let me give you a little back story.

The night I made the decision to say my farewells to the virtual book of faces, also known as Facecrack, I was riddled with all sorts of worries and insecurities. I was certain that I would lose all social ties with everyone I had ever made contact with. Maybe people were going to egg my house for being a Facebook-less dweeb. I would surely struggle sharing my photographs with people, and the people with whom I had developed good relations on Facebook- well, they were going to hate me. Or worse, they would forget I ever existed.

Without Facebook, my life would be over. Without Facebook, it would be the end of the world as I know it. And I love it that way. My life has improved drastically! Sure, I find myself missing some of the good things about Facebook, but the irony in all of this is that I have felt more loved and more socially involved since I deactivated my “social networking profile” than I ever did while I still used it. People actually pick up the phone and call me. I have gotten text messages saying that I am loved, missed, funny, beautiful, and late for practice (haha, that’s a funny one!). I have written and received letters, and I have had face-to-face chats with old friends I haven’t seen in ages, as opposed to the monotonous “How are you?” “I’m good,” “Cool.” “Yeah.” “LOL” Facebook chats that I would have with random friends from time to time.

I cannot make myself any clearer when I say I love not having a Facebook. Maybe having this blog makes it easier, maybe, but only very few people I actually know have the link to this blog so it isn’t exactly the best way for me to keep in contact with people.

I am really enjoying the fact that now instead of lurking around my friends’ Facebook pages I will give them a ring to see how they’re doing, or stop in for a visit. It is so refreshing to communicate with people, and really feel this community that Facebook was supposed to build for me. I have nothing wrong with Facebook itself, and think it is a great tool for networking- it just wasn’t for me anymore. At this time in my life, I have better things to do. My life is changing and rearranging, and I am chasing after too many things to worry about what Jane Doe is trying to tell me in a not-so-subtle-way by posting hurtful song lyrics as their status.

So, not having a Facebook is the end of the world as I know it; I am so excited to be entering my new world. Or rather, my old world with a twist- after all, I did live without Facebook for the first 17 years of my life.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

PS: A good friend told me they started a “Stop The Madness” protest page, where ALL sorts of people are trying to talk me back into getting a Facebook account because they miss me. Mom immediately went to check it out, and told me that this is what it said:

To all my FB peep’s it’s a sad day as we have suffered a tragic loss of one of our loved ones. It seems that Heather has deleted her FB account. Heather will be remembered for her positive upbeat attitude, her photography skills, her writing abilities, her art work, and singing.

She will be sadly missed by both friends and family. Visitations will be at her house whenever she’s home.

Please join my protest to STOP THE MADNESS by leaving a comment for her below. If we can get 1,000 comments and likes maybe she will come back.

Occasionally Mom will sit me down and read all of the sweet, funny, and encouraging comments to me. The response is more than I thought it would be, and comments like “Don’t leave your fans behind!” overwhelm me. However, I still need a break from Facebook, and the supportive comments of “Take your time and do what you need to do, but we really do miss you,” are so great to hear too.

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Hungry for Ideas (via Musings of a Middle School Arts Teacher) A Few Photographs

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn Rae  |  February 19, 2011 at 6:08 PM

    I love that someone made a “stop the madness” page for you! That’s so awesome.

    I de-activated my facebook for a month and loved it! I had to return for work purposes (I do the soical networking and my profile is set as the “moderator” for all our accounts), but as soon as I’m done with this job, facebook is gone again.

    It’s quite liberating, isn’t it? 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  February 19, 2011 at 7:53 PM

      It is oh-so-very liberating. 😀 I am so glad I finally got past my hurdles and insecurities and just deactivated it. I am so much more at ease, and I am finally starting to become at peace with myself again.

      Reply
  • 3. starrlife  |  February 20, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    I’ve never had Facebook. But as an older person it becomes more of a getting back in touch with all of those old friends mostly. Which if I’d really wanted to stay in touch with them I guess I would’ve. I don’t really get it. I guess I could make a facebook page and then line up the friends I want and get their phone numbers, snail addy’s and re-start a friendship? I’m glad this is working out for you!!

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  February 20, 2011 at 10:52 AM

      Yeah, I was slate bloomer for Facebook anyway. I didn’t even create one until I went to Girl’s State for a week, and I figured out that it would be the easiest way (HA!) to keep in touch with all of the new friends I made. At the time I didn’t have texting on my phone either, and all these girls were texting machines! Then, people I know found me and started requesting my friendship. Also, in my photography endeavors people would ask me “Do you have a Facebook so I can see all these later?” and I would say yes.

      It became a way to show my art and photography to other people very quickly.

      The funniest thing about it all is that by the time I deactivated my Facebook page I had basically lost communication with the people from Girl’s State anyway, and didn’t even pay attention to their status updates or anything. I mean, yeah, that week was amazing and they are amazing girls that I miss. Sometimes though, I think that one of the most beautiful sources of inspirations nostalgia. That moment of wondering how everyone is doing now… With Facebook I knew that already, because someone would say “Just went to the mall after work, great day!” and the mystery would be gone.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,708 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


