Love is Everywhere (Photography Post)

March 1, 2011 at 3:15 PM 3 comments

So today I was out practicing some photography when something incredible caught my eye. A little vine had twisted itself up into the shape of a heart, right in my very own front yard! I quickly snapped away at several different angles, and I was so glad I had decided to go out and take pictures today. It is the little things like this that I would probably miss out on if I didn’t walk around exploring with my camera from time to time. Remember in my “iPhone Photography” post where I shared that you should take many pictures of everything from all sorts of angles? The above photograph is why. Because when you take photos from ridiculous angles amazing things happen inside your camera.

The above photograph inspired a series of photographs that I took using my brothers help (he was my very gracious hand model, poor guy!). Oh, my little brother was such a great sport for this one. Really as long as I don’t include his face in any of the pictures I take he is alright with me using him as a “test subject”. That is why he is usually my “hand model” or other such figure.

What are you waiting for? Get out your phones, your point & shoots, or your fancy-schmancy “I-can-change-the-lens-on-mine-nyah-nyah-nyah” cameras and have some fun! Be creative, see with your soul, and don’t be afraid to click away (this is easier when using a digital camera though, because digital clicks are free clicks).

To achieve an intentional silhouette place your subject somewhere that you can put a clear sky behind it/them. Once you’ve got that covered, you HAVE to be shooting in manual mode. Basically any other mode will override the settings you make because it will say that your subject is very underexposed. You know that your subject is underexposed, because that is the whole point. Adjust your shutter speed and aperture to be exposed for the sky, so the sky is nice and clear and vibrant. Your shutter speed will probably be very high. Without changing the settings, focus on your subject instead of the sky. Your camera will be showing you that the subject is not exposed properly. Ignore it and take the picture anyway. You might have to have a few test runs before you find the settings and angles that you really like. After some practice you will be walking away with breathtaking silhouette’s of everything from your little brother’s hand to birds flying in the sky to your neighbors fence. Hey, fences can be beautiful (especially if they are like my neighbor’s)!

Oh, I also apologize for publishing so many posts today and most likely overflowing your “subscription” section. Forgive me?

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: Photography. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Cheesecake: Photographs from the Making Process Hiatus

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn Rae  |  March 1, 2011 at 3:20 PM

    Absolutely beatiful! That first picture is my favorite 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  March 1, 2011 at 3:22 PM

      Thanks! I actually think that the last picture is my favorite. Well, the last picture and the second picture.

      Reply
  • 3. vanillasense  |  March 6, 2011 at 3:16 AM

    Great Post! you included the story behind the picture and also some tips! Thanks for doing that in fact!!
    Not to mention the photographs are lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


