Today I am inventing my own alphabet.

March 16, 2011 at 5:37 PM 9 comments

My Personal Science Fiction Fairy Tale

I have written out my own bizarre lines and shapes to represent the capital letters of the alphabet I have grown up knowing. I am making my own alphabet. Why? To prove to myself that I can. I know it will not be widely used, but just the thought that I can create something for myself and keep it going is the sort of motivation I have been needing lately. Now I am going to create the lower case letters, and I am going to create an entire journal entry based on this alphabet. I am going to strengthen my inner self, and I am going to listen to joyful music. I am going to bathe in my dreams and goals. I am going to momentarily forget about my weaknesses. I am going to paint like I am not going to show it to anyone. I am going to give today my all. I am going to remember this day. This is an ordinary day, with extraordinary potential.

This day is going to mean something to me. On this day I am going to discover more of myself. You might laugh and say “Silly girl, you can do this every day,” but unless I start now it will never happen. Unless I take the time to make my ordinary day something special, look at myself for who I am and what I want, I will never do it. I am a creature of habit, as much as the free-spirited side of me hates to admit.

Today, this alphabet is representing me. I am inventing myself, and I am going to reach out further into the unknown.

Vincent van Gogh once wrote “the only thing that matters is the force of one’s expression.” Today, and everyday, I matter. I can feel the force behind my expression. Can you feel it?

Can you feel your own force? Do you know what your force is?

Use the force, young padawan.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Still on Hiatus, but I just had to post something! A Photography Blog

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn Rae  |  March 17, 2011 at 5:12 AM

    Oh, Heather. I just adore your spirit πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  March 17, 2011 at 1:51 PM

      πŸ˜‰ Thank you! There are quite a few people in my life right now (you included) who seem to bring out the best in me!

      Reply
  • 3. starrlife  |  March 17, 2011 at 8:44 AM

    You make me happy. You do the darndest things!

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  March 17, 2011 at 1:52 PM

      Aww, shucks. :] I’m glad I make you happy, because you give me a sense of strength and determination mixed with happiness. I read your blogs and I feel like I can do anything!

      Reply
  • 5. Sana Johnson-Quijada MD  |  March 18, 2011 at 12:33 AM

    “the force” is one of my favorite topics, analogies and even indulgences. nice post.

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  March 18, 2011 at 6:44 PM

      Thank you very much. πŸ™‚ You have a very nice blog yourself! I plan on subscribing!

      Reply
      • 7. Sana Johnson-Quijada MD  |  March 18, 2011 at 9:26 PM

        wow. thanks. looking forward to hearing u speak any time u have something to say or want to hear about something specific. keep on.

  • 8. Candee Basford  |  March 18, 2011 at 5:52 PM

    You make me smile….

    Your alphabet project reminds me of an artist nearby. Her name is Laurie Doctor from Louisville. She incorporates her invented lettering into her art – Take a look. Maybe there are some “idea ‘seeds’ for the collage workshop next month???? What say ye?

    http://www.lauriedoctor.com/Gallery/GallerySketchbook.html

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  March 18, 2011 at 6:03 PM

      Awesome, that is definitely a great idea… and I like her artwork! Thank you so much for commenting. πŸ˜€ I’m gonna have to get practicing if I expect to be any good at this here collage workshop. Hopefully it works out that Mom and I get to go, and I might end up dragging Lyn along too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm RenΓ©e, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,641 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


