Your Flaws are Beautifully Made

April 3, 2011 at 4:02 PM 4 comments

I was late to church this morning, something that is not unusual for me. I was up entirely too late last night working on important projects and I really hate getting out of bed. Even though my body was in severe protest to leaving my warm, soft bed and going out into the world I did it anyway because I genuinely enjoy going to church. I enjoy having deep thoughts about life, and how to improve it. I enjoy comparing my opinions and thoughts to those of others around me. I like listening to live music (and on some occasions being a part of performing the live music). I love the discussions (some light-hearted, others more serious) that are held after church.

I do not always agree with everything about “The Church”, but I never fully agree with everything anyway.

In the sermon today, something particularly caught my interest.

John 9

Jesus Heals a Man Born Blind

1 As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. 2 His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”

That is some serious red-flag for me. I immediately zoned in on the preacher, and to be honest I was already coming up with arguments in my head. I remember thinking ‘Just because the man is blind does not mean that anyone sinned to cause it! If that is the case the whole WORLD would be blind…‘ (Aren’t we all, anyway, in some way or another? But that is another blog post…)

I lightened up a little as he continued to say that we tend to jump to conclusions about people based on their situations and circumstances. We see homeless people and we think “How did they end up here? What awful thing did they do? What did they forget to do?” We look around and we see people with bruises and we think “What did they do to deserve that? They must have been pretty dumb or hateful… either that, or they ran into something because they weren’t paying attention.” We are constantly saying “There is something wrong in your life by my personal standards so you must have sinned.” It’s pretty awful, isn’t it?

I was dancing for JOY when I realized what came next.

3 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him.

YES! This is it. This is probably one of my favorite quotes from the Bible I have heard in a very long time.

Whatever might not be perfect in your life, whatever people call you out for, or tease you about, or question you for, or look down on you for, is a beautiful piece of the Creator’s PLAN! It is natural, innocent, and beautiful. You are enough, because there is a plan for your life. There is a plan for you. Your “disabilities” or your “flaws” are incredible tools to show people LOVE, kindness, and true community. To show that all things are possible, no matter the circumstances.

Throw normal out the window, because you were meant to shine.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Wordle Fun Most Amazing Sunday Evening in a While (PICTURES HERE!)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn Rae  |  April 4, 2011 at 4:44 PM

    You have the most loving heart, Heather. Thank you for sharing this with us. Verse 3 definitely made me dance with joy too 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  April 4, 2011 at 9:03 PM

      ❤ I am so glad you are dancing with me.

      Reply
  • 3. starrlife  |  April 6, 2011 at 11:13 PM

    Of course you know that I agree:)

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  April 7, 2011 at 12:15 AM

      Oh Starr, ❤ I do appreciate you so.

      You might be interested in viewing my Art History blog that I am doing for class. 😉 OR maybe I'd just like you to see it. I hope it ends up being as fascinating for other people as it is for me! (In other words, I hope I end up portraying it well.)

      I'll give you the URL if you want!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


