Most Amazing Sunday Evening in a While (PICTURES HERE!)

April 4, 2011 at 12:54 AM 7 comments

So, this evening I decided that I wanted to grill the chicken because I rarely get to grill anything in our house. Well, actually, nobody ever grills anything in our house. It is always done outside. My point is, I almost never get to do it.

I didn’t let my lack of experience stop me from being a grillmaster (ehem, grillmistress) though. I was a lean (sort of), mean (depends on who you asked today), grilling machine. At least I had the grilling part down, and I wasn’t mean the entire day. You really don’t want to be around me when I have little sleep… if you think I’m extra happy, energetic, and excitable on a good amount of sleep imagine that extra dose of oomph with irritable, sluggish, and overall sarcastically disinterested on LOW sleep.

After Mom took those first two photos I just couldn’t resist getting my hands on my camera, grilling and chilling. 🙂 Doesn’t that chicken look gorgeous? Well, I mean, for partially-uncooked-chicken. And hey look! I see our old red wagon in the back of the frame by all of our garbage… heh heh.

I then decided I needed to hand my camera over to my little brother so he could take a shot of me being the Grillmistress Heatherr that I really am. You have to say it with a growl. Heatherr.

I am such a ninja. I fell over two seconds later. My left foot was just slightly off the sidewalk and I tripped…

While grilling with camera in hand I found myself quite distracted by the beauty of the day around me. Spring was really starting to show itself in our yard today, with all of the warm sunshine.

Our patch of bamboo was especially neat-o today, with crazy orange colors in the leafery. Yeah… leafery isn’t a word. I’m too tired to care right now. I like it.

By this point you probably either forgot all about the chicken, or think I did. Well, I didn’t. For too long. I managed to not overcook the chicken.

In fact, I think the chicken looked quite scrumptious. It was much easier on my ravenously hungry stomach to temporarily forget there was food being cooked and snap some photos than to stand there watching the chicken slowly cook anyway. Right? Right!

Dinner ended up being amazing, with the accompanying foods that Mom prepared. Baby Spinach (one of my personal favorites, REALLY), Celery (another favorite), Cheesy Potatoes (I am sensing a pattern of dietary love here), and biscuits (oh, JOY!). Did I mention I love chocolate milk, and we don’t get it very often?

And still, as incredible as everything so far has been, my favorite part of all of it is that I made dessert.

Chocolate Cake and White Icing from scratch, pictured here with a cherry on top to make what is called, by The Pioneer Woman, a “Devil Dog”.

After we all had our delicious Devil Dogs I decided to ice the rest of the cake with the rest of the icing and put a few cherries on it.

After all that craziness was finished I decided to practice some face painting techniques, on my leg… ;P

Once I successfully completed my cartoon tiger I watched a movie with my family (The Chaperone, it was fairly good) which almost never happens anymore. Now I am finishing up this blog post, listening to/watching a documentary about Vincent van Gogh called Van Gogh: Brush With Genius on Netflix, and preparing to get some serious sleep because I am really excited about (and busy) tomorrow. I have class, face painting preparations, dinner at Gram’s, and a handful of other things to look forward to. And my room needs to be straightened up again, while I am thinking about tasks.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Your Flaws are Beautifully Made What is love? What makes it change?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn Rae  |  April 4, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    I like the ninja picture. You’re cute 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  April 4, 2011 at 9:03 PM

      Aww, thanks! ^_^ I haven’t been called “cute” in a long time. Ha ha! I love that! Makes me feel like a kid again.

      Reply
  • 3. Shiku  |  April 7, 2011 at 12:57 PM

    Dang woman-why did you not put a disclaimer about all the tantalizing food pics…there’s no way I can stave off the hunger now *leaves to scavenge for dinner*

    p.s. Glad to have you back 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  April 7, 2011 at 10:56 PM

      Aww, I’m so sorry Shiku dearie. -pats head- It’ll be alright. Surely you’ve found food now! ❤

      It's good to be back! I have missed it TERRIBLY.

      Reply
  • 5. Angela McConnell  |  April 9, 2011 at 12:06 AM

    I want to come over for dinner! Fantastic pictures! And you make an awesome ninja and grillmistress, Heatherr. 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  April 9, 2011 at 10:31 AM

      Ha ha, thank you! You should have been here yesterday. It was too crazy to take pictures, but I made cake and icing from scratch again, I made chicken tacos, burritos, and we also had an assortment of fruits and vegetables. Yum! I love to cook and bake. The chicken tacos were crazy good because you take the pieces of chicken and fold a corn tortilla like a taco around it and then fry it together. After it gets golden brown you crack it slightly open and put shredded cheese down in so it will melt. It’s amazing!

      Reply
  • 7. Angela McConnell  |  April 9, 2011 at 12:07 AM

    Forgot to say…I love the tiger!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,643 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


