What is love? What makes it change?

April 4, 2011 at 9:49 PM 9 comments

Lately I have been thinking a lot about love. Not just romantic love, but also friendly love, the love between a parent and child, the way you love a pet, the way a pet loves you, etcetera. Almost more than love itself though, I have found myself thinking about WHERE love starts, WHAT causes it, HOW it stays around, WHEN things fall apart, and WHY it’s so fascinating. I have been pondering where the line between love and hate is. Why is it that love and hate are both so passionate? Is it not true that a fire could be a symbol of love or hate? What is an act of love? Why do people show and express love? Why don’t people show and express love? I could ask so many questions.

The question that has been heaviest on my heart lately is: What causes love to change?

What sparks the difference in how somebody looks at someone else? How does it change from stranger to lover? How can somebody be so afraid of experiencing a true, deep, honest love miraculously be willing to leap in front of a bus for their newborn child if they would ever need to? How do you go from friends to enemies? What causes the change? Is it surface level? Random? Fate? Deeper than the ocean?

I believe that love, real love, is bigger than we can ever really imagine or comprehend. That does not mean that I am not going to imagine, and that does not mean I am not going to do my best to discover honest love in everything that I do. My goal is to show love, feel love, and share love in the purest form possible.

It might be a long road, but I am willing to go the distance. Are you?

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Most Amazing Sunday Evening in a While (PICTURES HERE!) That “Wow!” Moment: Embarking On A Journey (via Art Moves Us)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chris  |  April 4, 2011 at 9:55 PM

    I haven’t written much lately, but this seems like a moment…… Love doesn’t change. We are the ones that change. If we look at the true cause, or because, love seems to change because something grows or breaks within ourselves. Try that for a paradigm shift. I look forward to seeing your reactions 🙂 Bless you, and your steps Heather.

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  April 4, 2011 at 10:47 PM

      That is very wise of you. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Jaclyn Rae  |  April 5, 2011 at 7:30 PM

    People often claim that they “fell out of love” with someone, but I’ve always thought that staying in love is a decision. I think if people want to remain in love, they will. If they want something else, they won’t.

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  April 5, 2011 at 8:14 PM

      I have thought similar things, Jaclyn. I guess I just don’t understand what changes in the mind that makes people “stop wanting” or “start wanting”.

      Reply
  • 5. Grace Jones  |  April 5, 2011 at 9:23 PM

    I agree with Chris that live doesn’t change (especially since the Author of Love-God- never changes).
    But people do change. And as they change and mature their love for someone can change and grow. Also as you mature and relationships grow, you can see things in those relationships that make you want to continue (or not) in that relationship. Like if you see that someone has a very addictive behavior and it is not a character trait you want to continue down the path with, then getting away from that relationship might be best. Or, on the flip side, if you see that someone has a servant heart and loves helping others, then you may want to continue and deepen that relationship.

    Reply
  • 6. randomthoughtsmom  |  April 8, 2011 at 2:38 AM

    Romantic love always changes over time. The passion will always fade or lessen as time goes on. But, that isn’t to say that you don’t still have love. It may even be deeper, but it will be different.

    I had a college professor who announced to our literature class that there is nothing romantic about marriage. She repeated her statement for emphasis. At the time, I was horrified. Too young to understand. Now, I get what she meant. The unknown of a new love makes it exciting, passionate, heated. When you’re settled in, it feels different. Not bad. But not the same.

    But you won’t know true love until you have a child. Another statement I didn’t agree with when I was young. But, it’s true. No other loves can be compared.

    I think what makes one stop wanting to be with another is when they are either taken for granted for too long, or they find someone else.

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:09 PM

      Wow, Right… that does make sense. I do actually believe that you won’t know true love until you have a child- I haven’t had a child yet, but I can believe that, kind of.

      That last line just kills me… wow. I mean, it makes sense, but it just hits me really hard…

      Reply
  • 8. Angela McConnell  |  April 9, 2011 at 12:11 AM

    I have to agree with randomthoughtsmom…”…you won’t know true love until you have a child.” It really is true. It’s so big it fills up my chest and closes up my throat just thinking about it and her.

    Wonderful post…and great art to go with it! You are so amazingly talented.

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  April 9, 2011 at 10:33 AM

      Thank you, Angela. 🙂 One day I’ll be buying one of your books off the shelf and reading it over and over again… I love your writing- even just on your blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,643 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


