Wow, it’s a small world!

April 23, 2011 at 12:11 AM 6 comments

So the most ridiculously, fabulously, magically wonderful thing happened to me over the past several days. It took a few days to unfurl into the beautiful thing that it is, but it is still one beautiful chain of events. I cannot even begin to comprehend the slim odds of this happening, right at this time, here, NOW.

A woman that I grew up knowing (who I had not seen as much lately, and we’ll call “A” for the sake of this post), one of the most incredible teachers I have ever had (who is probably sick of me lately, we’ll call her “C” because I’m a rebel and feel like listing these out of alphabetical order and happens to be funny), and I (little miss “B” for this post) all played a part in this beautiful mess of tangled and interwoven community. This is how community works.

“B” attended the same church as “A” in Jr. High and really, really got along well with “A”. You could say that “B” looked up to her. “B” got older and busier, “A” got busier, so unfortunately “A” and “B” were not able to spend much time together, if any at all. It wasn’t too bad though, because “A’s” son was around a lot and “B” could always ask how “A” was doing.

Time stretches forward.

“A” and “B” are both attending the same college, the same quarter, with the same professor (you guessed it, “C”). They’re taking different classes though, so they don’t have a clue.

“B” is struggling with thoughts if she is getting too personal with her class project blog, as she is dealing with some personal issues and they started spilling out into her project. “B” has a conversation with “C” about it, and “C” sends “B” a link to one of “A’s” blog posts from the other class.

(If you are keeping up with all my A’s and B’s you are AMAZING, because I’m already getting a little lost.)

“B” reads it and comments something silly (starting with “…you don’t know me, but…”) because she is so inspired by it. “A” sees “B’s” comment and doesn’t put it together either, and thanks “B” for the kind words. “B” goes ahead and posts what she was originally going to post. Then she goes and reads “A’s” blog post again because she loved it so much.

“B” realizes that there is a strong chance that the author of this blog is “A” so she asks “C” about it, and by-golly it’s the same name that “A” has.

“A” and “B” see each other again for the first time in ages and both embrace in a huge hug while “A” says “…you don’t know me, but…” and they both laugh. They both have so much appreciation and gratitude for each other, and for “C”, and everything seems right in the world.

Boy, it’s small, isn’t it?

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Community, Food For Thought, Gratitude, Serendipity. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Something About You Artist Trading Cards

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Candee Basford  |  April 23, 2011 at 1:30 PM

    Now, it’s “C” doing the happy dance.

    By the way, “A” and “B” happen to be remarkable people who live full on with passion, risk and conviction.

    Thank you for that. You are “C’s” teacher.

    Also…You are tweeting? I can’t wait to hear more about this.

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  April 23, 2011 at 11:35 PM

      Oh, geez, the tweeting. Yeah, it started as a way to receive happy and encouraging SARK messages to my phone, and now it turns out that I don’t mind tweeting something from time to time. I guess.

      I would like to believe that the world is full of “teachers,” we just have to be willing to “learn.” 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Candee Basford  |  April 23, 2011 at 1:34 PM

    Oh, one more thing.

    I read in the sidebar of your blog that you are dreaming of selling your photographs one day. Now’s the time.

    Applications are being accepted now for the upcoming area artists exhibition.

    Do it.

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  April 23, 2011 at 11:37 PM

      😦 I ran out of time to get decent photo prints, definitely no time for framing, and my week is already booked before I leave for the trip.

      On that note, I am preparing for NEXT year when I will have great works and much more readiness. It just isn’t in the cards for this year… I am going to exhibit some art though, I believe.

      Reply
  • 5. k9vol  |  April 23, 2011 at 6:37 PM

    This is chuckling A. When we spoke, I couldn’t help but think of that little girl in Jr. High whom I found to be a constant ray of sunshine. I have always loved that you marched to a different beat and felt that you would make a positive impact in this world. I am so very proud of you, my dear B, and please, don’t ever shy away from being the ‘real’ you. My life is definitely better for having known you and I know others feel the same way too.

    Pamela B.

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  April 23, 2011 at 11:33 PM

      Aww. I’m crying. Happy tears, happy tears- happy tears are the best tears! ❤ You are so sweet. I miss you very much, and I am so glad we got to see each other last night and have that conversation. I am so glad we are both taking the classes we're taking. I am even more glad that Candee helped lead us to inspiring each other again.

      I will always be your girl, your little ray of sunshine, no matter how big I get. I am walking on air!

      Yours, from the heart,
      Heather

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,711 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


