Giving Fear Permission to Leave

May 21, 2011 at 9:50 PM Leave a comment

I have learned over this weekend that something incredible happens when you acknowledge your fear, but you don’t hold onto it. You recognize that it is there, look it in the eye, and give it permission to leave. You can talk directly to your fears.

“Fear, do you mind if I call you Lucy? Okay, good. Lucy, you’ve been hanging around me for a long time now and I really think it would be best if you gave yourself a break. Surely you are tired of following me around and constantly reminding me of things I start to forget. I can remember well enough on my own, really. Besides, it won’t kill me if I forget a few of the things that you try so hard to remind me. Like last night, when I told you to go buy me a sandwich while I was performing in spontaneous karaoke. That was a much better use of your time, Lucy. Or how about today while I was falling backwards out of a 50-feet-high doorway and you were down helping my friend make sure she got the best pictures! Sometimes it is nice to have you around because you keep me from doing the really stupid things (like driving into a pond), but you don’t have to be with me all the time or when I am trying to tackle the little things. I have plenty of other friends to be there for me when I am struggling with those, so you really would do better to get a manicure instead.”

Your conversations with your own fears might be a little bit different, but you can still tell your fear to leave you alone. You can get past your own personal Lucy when she just seems to be standing in your way. Also, you don’t always have to climb over your fears… slipping under Lucy’s legs or slipping beside her works too, when you aren’t quite strong enough to go over her completely. Sometimes it is tempting to let Lucy hold your hand, staying in your safety net of fear, holding you back from new things.

Lucy and I get along much better now that I have told her I need some space to grow. I do a lot more than I would have when Lucy and I were constantly together. Lucy doesn’t make a very good karaoke partner, rappelling buddy, or blog editor. She does make a very good babysitter though, when she remembers not to pet the sweaty stuff. 😉

Happy Adventures,
Burkie (minus Lucy)

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Food For Thought. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Let the ‘Ice Cream Truck Chases’ Begin! Storms of Life (A Painting)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,711 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


