Education-Gypsy and Part-Time Fairy-Wing-Wearer

May 26, 2011 at 11:19 PM 4 comments

My attempt at "Digital Matting" heehee. This painting is watercolor and is titled "Dance Through the Storm". It is by me, some ridiculous 2AM work...

This piece is particularly special to me, and I will always hold it very dear to my heart.

Now that that is out of my system, I so badly want to share with you some experiences of my day!

Today I wandered over to the college after I finished my shift at work, and then I remembered that I had to collect my paintings from the exhibit once I got there. Ha ha! I can’t believe that I forgot I was going to be bringing them back home. It is still hard to believe that I have such beautifully framed artwork, and I painted/collaged it myself. And it’s framed. Beautifully. Yeah, I might be just a little excited. Where in the heck am I supposed to put these two babies though?

I worked on some things that I needed to spend time doing for a little while, gave and received hugs, waved at complete strangers, and smiled a lot. Then something amazing happened in my brain! I decided that I would ask Candee if I could sit in on her speech class, since I really wanted to take a speech class with her but it hasn’t worked out in that direction. I was prepared to learn, I was prepared to laugh, and I was prepared to expect the unexpected (hey, it was Candee’s class after all). I was also very prepared to see my “other mother”, Pam, again and she is in this class. We sat together and somebody asked if I was her daughter. We said yes, mutually. I love her. (hey, Pam, I LOVE YOU!) I was prepared for something amazing. I was not prepared for Candee’s speech class. I was not prepared for the love that just buzzed around the room, I was not prepared for the tears, I was not prepared for the cupcakes, I was not prepared for one of the most moving classroom experiences, and I was not prepared for not being prepared. This doesn’t surprise me though, in hindsight, because Candee has an exceptional way of making everyone in the room feel comfortable and feel like family and it is very similar in our Art History class. I guess I just didn’t know what to expect (again, duh!).

I am so glad that she (Candee) was willing to welcome me into her classroom, and that everyone else was okay with it too. You all seem like such a wonderful group of people, and I am jealous that you all got to know each other without me. C’est la vie!

I decided I would continue the trend of “going to classes that I don’t actually belong to” like an education-gypsy. It was so much fun in that class, why not the next one? Besides, I was informed that I would like it. I didn’t like it.

I loved it.

We watched one of my personal favorite videos, which is a clip from How Art Made the World. We discussed where we came from, and origins. We discussed love and community. We discussed art. The best part was when we created art. Collaging is near and dear to my heart, for always. Maybe that is why I always seem to have hearts in my collages…

I am immersed. I walked out into the rain and I was certain that no matter what, I am going to be the person that I want to be. I am so lucky.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Art, Community, Gratitude. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Building Castles (via Jaclyn Rae’s Blog) Muddy Water Sunburns

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela McConnell  |  May 30, 2011 at 3:57 AM

    Oh, wow! I love this painting! You have such a distinctive, beautiful style. And I loved reading about your day. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  May 30, 2011 at 5:04 PM

      Thanks Ange! 😀 I really appreciate that comment. You have NO idea!

      Reply
  • 3. Candee Basford  |  May 31, 2011 at 9:13 AM

    I agree with Angela. I love your distinctive style (in everything you do). thanks for being you.

    ” Education Gypsy” – Perfect.

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  May 31, 2011 at 8:55 PM

      😉 I try… okay, so I don’t really try so much as I just let it happen… but at least I let it happen! 😀 Yeah, I thought “Education Gypsy” was a pretty amazing title for myself. Heeheehee.

      You are one of my biggest inspirations.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,643 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


