My Sims Addiction: Admitting My Nerdiness

June 2, 2011 at 10:15 AM Leave a comment

My favorite sim right now, Katelyn Granger (Katie), in the creation stages. She's maxed her writing skill, published multiple hits and best-sellers, is working on a "masterpiece" and is a professional author. 😀 I don't live vicariously at all...

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am hopelessly addicted to The Sims. Currently it is The Sims 3 that I use, but I started “simming” when I was 10 years old with the original Sims. I ended up owning “The Sims Complete Collection” and I played it all the time. Seriously, I learned a lot about time management from that original game and it’s expansion packs. When I bought The Sims 2 it was such a huge jump that I seriously never turned back. I didn’t even remember the skill set I had developed for just plain ol’ “The Sims”. I had moved on.

Well, I played The Sims 2 and each new expansion pack for a really long time– the problem with it was that I grew addicted to using cheat codes so I got bored with the game very quickly because the so-called goals that I had set (knowing I would cheat to get there) were reached too quickly. I stopped playing as much, but I still bought all of the expansions because I could play for a little longer before I got bored again. I used to draw my sims, write stories about them, and basically give them even more depth than they already had in the real game.

Enter The Sims 3. My life was changed, I didn’t know any cheat codes and I actually enjoyed the gameplay again. Even though I stopped using custom content and I didn’t like how the sims on the new game looked at first compared to the sims on The Sims 2 I loved the game so much more. I guess that just goes to show that looks aren’t as important! Besides, the views on this whole new world were beautiful. Watching the sun set over the beach is something that still takes my breath away sometimes, even on this computer game. Even better, I had more creativity with creating my sims which has always been my favorite part! I could choose very distinctive hair colors; even as detailed as root, base, highlights and tips. I had skintone sliders. Muscle tone sliders. OH JOY! Skinny, fat, skinny, fat. I was in HEAVEN. Not to mention that there were loads of fun, negative, and amazing personality traits to choose from making every sim that much more unique.

You really could build a little online community, with no loading screens between your sim’s home and the public park, library, school, work, etc.

I know that I am probably geeking out, but I am especially excited today. 🙂 I haven’t played The Sims much at all this year, only three or four times, and this has been the longest I have gotten to dive into it since mid-2010. I was one of those kids that loved to play house, so The Sims just really suited me (and still does).

I even created some sims to resemble my favorite characters from the movie Chocolat:

The Sims is something I will always be involved with, because like my art and writing these characters are little extensions of myself. I build them, create them, fulfill their wishes and dreams, make sure their needs are met, give them depth and background. Maybe I’ll share some of my Sims stories someday, in another blog. 😉 That could be fun! I do love writing the stories of their lives…

Katie and her husband Dom (Dominic) had their first child several sim days ago, and they named him Avery. He is now a toddler, and quite the bundle of joy! I am excited to see the trajectory of his story!! One of my FAVORITE things about The Sims 3 is the Family Tree that shows you all of their lineage. 😀 It even recognizes step-fathers and uncles and stuff!!!

 

Will Avery look less like a girl when he gets older?

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Entertainment.

Be Extraordinary!! I Am A Jerk, Sometimes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


