Feeling Brave

July 24, 2011 at 7:04 AM 4 comments

Well, World, it’s been a few days.

It’s been a very good few days, but I’ve spent this time away from my blog so I kind of apologize (only, not really).

Thursday afternoon I heard my voice lesson instructor playing on the radio. Did I mention that she is an incredibly talented person?

Friday morning I went to voice lessons and once again had to give myself an hour long pep-talk before arrival just to keep myself from breaking into a nervous mess. Not because I heard her on the radio, but because she is also an incredible person and I don’t want to let her down. I just had to keep reminding myself that if I give in to my fears and start to sing weaker again that will not be making her happy. Ha ha! I might not be right on every note, I might not have perfect rhythm, but if I am trying and giving it my all, and not backing down, and not sliding up to the high notes, she’ll have a smile on her face (she usually does anyway, though). Also, no chewing. But that’s another story for another day, and it’s not what you think.

Friday afternoon I drove the extra 20 minutes from the hour-away-voice-lessons to visit my long-time sister-friend at her new house that I’d never been to and had minimal directions for. After the visit I headed home and got lost on purpose (really, I promise) and then got the shortest (and cutest) hair cut that I have gotten since before 2003 when I got home. I walked up to the little barber shop in town and donated something like 11 inches to Locks of Love. That was pretty scary and liberating. I love it.

For all you English and Grammar nuts (yeah, YOU!) I am fully aware that I use a heck of a lot of parenthesis and that they are not this necessary. Well, guess what? I say a lot of things that are not necessary, so that is how I am going to write. I talk in parenthesis. And air quotes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And fragments, for slightly-less-than-dramatic effect.

I honestly don’t remember what I did on Friday night. No– I was not drunk, my keys were not lost, and there were no Barbies on the Bar-B-Q. I just don’t think it was very eventful compared to the rest of my evening. I think I walked a dog and went to bed early. I could be wrong.

None of that matters anyway, because Saturday morning I woke up at some ridiculous (and God-forsaken, mind you) hour before my alarm even went off. I decided that since I could not sleep I would make the best of it and ignore my growling stomach since I would be meeting friends for breakfast in… 4.5 hours. Ha ha! I am pretty sure I painted a little bit, then I got ready and walked a dog around the block. I left entirely to early and stopped at work for about 20 minutes. No one was there, because it was definitely an hour and 20 minutes before they were supposed to open, and no one was scheduled to be there until I left. I read a good book, left a note for my boss, got a drink of water and enjoyed the air conditioning that my vehicle lacks. Even in the morning it is still way to hot.

I didn’t want to be late for breakfast though, so unfortunately I had to leave before anyone got there and I would have to wait to show off my beautiful new haircut to my co-workers. ๐Ÿ˜›

I ended up being about 25 minutes early for breakfast and I once again opened my book to read. I left the table for a little while and returned to see one of my dear, beautiful, sweet, caring, talented– okay, maybe I’ll stop because listing all of any of their amazing qualities would just take too longย –friends at the table I had chosen. My honest-to-goodness first thought was “Aw, she knows me so well she just sensed my presence at the table and knew immediately to sit there,” because Ibelieveinmagicsometimes. Always. Turns out the waitress asked if she was looking for a young girl who was waiting for other people and the waitress was kind enough to show her to my table. It is still pretty magical.

Everyone else managed to arrive safely (my prayers were answered!) and even a slight (or rather large and problematic) obstacle for one of these beautiful ladies was not enough to get in the way of our wonderful time and she showed up anyway. “Better late than never,” I always say! That being said I really hate being late which is why I tend to ALWAYS leave to early and read a while in a book when I am excited about something. I’ll probably grow out of that if my mom is any example. She had us kids and was almost never on time for anything until we got much older.

Everyone loved my hair, which I already knew would happen because it is adorable but I definitely appreciated hearing anyway. That sentence was awful, but I’m leaving it. Done.

We laughed a lot, almost cried (from laughing), talked about so many things, planned to put a little coffee shop on the map and “advance our pseudo-careers” (that part is a quote, right?). Someone made a comment about networking, and I said “See, you don’t need a Facebook to network because I planned this without Facebook!” under my breath. Or maybe it was just in my head. I don’t remember, but I don’t think anyone heard me.

Sometimes I have a lot to prove. I’m working on that.

I shared some art and my journal with these ladies, one shared her little-black-book (the best little-black-book ever), and we all shared many incredible minutes together. I tried my best to soak up each one! I love the story of the Sunshine/Sonshine Box and I seriously want to do that. Stinking amazing woman almost made me cry because she is so incredibly encouraging. They all are!

We are definitely going to be getting together again soon. Next month? Oh yes.

Did I mention that I am going to be trying my hand at karaoke soon also? That sentence pretty much explains the title of this post. I’ll let you know how it goes!

I hope you are all having a BEAUTIFUL Sunday. It’s only 7am for me, but it’s already beyond beautiful because I am getting to take time to reflect on how incredible my life is.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Art, Community, Gratitude. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Girl Inspired Weaknesses, and Learning to Turn Them Into Strengths

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. starrlife  |  July 24, 2011 at 8:58 AM

    You are so busy! But so creative it’s hard to resist! I have a stunning website just for you that I thought of you when I saw.
    http://umavagaideia.blogspot.com/2011/07/why.html
    Another photographer who I admire tremendously had his photo used for this post – check him out too- he is amazing as well. He is linked under the painting (Robert Wilson).

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:40 PM

      Very cool! Thank you for the link. ๐Ÿ˜€ Also, thank you for the thought. Ha ha!

      I also read your posts but don’t always have time to comment. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  • 3. Jaclyn Rae  |  July 26, 2011 at 12:14 PM

    Can we see a picture of your cute hair?? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renรฉe, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,703 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


