The Great Big Comfortable Sigh at the End of a Really Long Haul

August 3, 2011 at 5:53 PM 3 comments

Life is good. Life is fan-freaking-tastically amazing.

Friday the 29th was a grand adventure. Saturday the 30th was a great day at work, full of energy and bustle. Sunday the 31st was peaceful.

Monday the 1st and Tuesday the 2nd were nostalgic and lazy, pleasant, and fun.

Today, Wednesday the 3rd, was a wonderful work day, peaceful in the morning with a slight afternoon rush, and a learning experience. 🙂 I was also thrown an impromptu birthday party (with cupcakes, singing, and cards!) from my co-workers & boss just before I left work (I LOVE YOU GUYS!).

Tomorrow, Thursday the 4th, is my birthday. My Dad is making us breakfast. I am packing my backpack full of books and art supplies and we are going to a lodge about an hour and a half away, where we will be swimming, reading, playing in the arcade, eating pizza, laughing, and spending time as a family for the day. Then we’ll come home that night and I will sleep for 36 hours (maybe in my dreams) and wake up on…

…Saturday, August 6th. I do not have to go back to work until August 10th, and I didn’t even request off. I LOVE MY LIFE. This staycation is going to be so wonderful. I am going to spend it with family, picking on my little brother most especially. I am going to clean my room a little and work on transitioning to the basement. I am going to take a chance to breathe a little. I am gonna do my best not to make plans. I am going to learn how to play some new songs on the piano. I am going to try out some new recipes. I am going to read The Pioneer Woman’s blog every day. I am going to watch Who’s the Boss? reruns. I am going to paint. I am going to draw. I am going to make imaginary budgets, and a real one. I don’t know why, but crunching numbers is a bizarre hobby of mine. I might just make myself a dress, or two. I am going to live whimsically!

Then, on Wednesday, August 10th, I am going to be SO insanely happy to dive back into work they’ll probably want to send me home. I will be a little chatterbox all day, I will be energetically rushing around trying to keep busy, I will be smiling and waving and holding conversations with patrons that I have missed. I will be SO happy. I love taking breaks, but I love my job so I am always happy to go back. Especially after nice long breaks like this one.

Oh, and don’t be surprised if I call you. When I have the time I love catching up with old friends (and new friends too!).

I don’t even know what to DO with myself during all this unexpected free time!! 😀 I’m going to soak up life. Every small little bit.

Happy Adventures,
Burkie

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Gratitude. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Empowerment Showcase You may not believe it, but…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mommagracejones  |  August 4, 2011 at 9:54 AM

    Happy Birthday to my very sweet and special friend!!! I hope you enjoy your day!!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  August 4, 2011 at 11:12 PM

      Thank you! 😀 Aww. It was really a fantastic day. I am plum exhausted from all the fun in the sun I’ve had. Like a true summer birthday. ❤

      Reply
  • 3. Jaclyn Rae  |  August 5, 2011 at 8:17 PM

    Happy birthday, Heather darling! I hope you had the most amazing day ever! Thank you for being so special & inspiring. You are very loved. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 3 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,642 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


