In the middle of it all, it’s nobody’s fault,

October 22, 2011 at 6:22 PM 2 comments

Life is full of ups, downs, and everything in between. If you took all the values of life and combined them into a painting you would get a rich and beautiful piece of art.

You cannot have light without dark,” is very a common saying in the art world, especially when instructing people about values.

I think that carries through to real life. If every value was the same, life would be flat. If all we had were good times, they wouldn’t feel as good. Everyone is constantly learning, growing, searching, and feeling. Life is beautiful with all of the rich contrasts, deep shadows, riveting highlights, and kaleidoscope colors.

Recently I was listening to Sara Bareilles’ new CD, Kaleidoscope Heart and I love it. The song that stands out to me the most in my life right now is Uncharted.

I won’t go as a passenger, no
Waiting for the road to be laid
Though I may be going down,
I’m taking flame over burning out

Compare where you are to where you want to be, and you’ll get nowhere

I’m going down,
Follow if you want, I won’t just hang around,
Like you’ll show me where to go,
I’m already out of foolproof ideas, so don’t ask me how
To get started, it’s all uncharted.

I love this song. I am at a crucial time in my life, as I always have been and always will be. The crucial time of right now. I can choose to love or I can choose to fear. Sometimes I choose fear, but I do my best to consciously choose love. Love myself, love others, love life.

I find that the path of love is often uncharted. It is not the common choice, and often we conform to the world of fear. Fearing ourselves, fearing others, and fearing life.

I’m here to say, don’t be afraid! Find your own path of love, beauty, and value. It will not be on any maps, and the road will be narrow and easily fallen off, but you will always be able to find your way to it.

Happy Adventures,
Heather

P.S. I love you

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Art, Community, Food For Thought, Music. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Sometimes Someone Else Just Says it Better No Shame in Stillness

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. girlseekskiss  |  October 22, 2011 at 6:27 PM

    Choose love. It conquers all; especially when it’s love for yourself.

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  October 22, 2011 at 7:46 PM

      Yes. It does. 🙂 Thank you for the comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


