Eleven Questions I’ve Answered

March 23, 2012 at 10:36 PM 7 comments

Starrlife tagged me in this meme, and I am SO excited! Without further ado, let me answer these bad boys:

1) What is a favorite memory from childhood?

Well, I have a lot of favorite memories… and sometimes I feel like “my childhood” wasn’t all that long ago. Sometimes I feel like I am still living in it. To make things simpler, I’m going to say “before I was twelve”. If I had to choose a favorite memory from before my teen years though, something that I remember not from photographs or stories, it would have to be the day the my Grammie and my Great Aunt Joanne took me to watch the Nutcracker. I’d gone to see the ballet many times with various people, my Grammie always the one to bring us all– and I was always there –but there was something special about that day. It’s fuzzy, and probably blended with a lot of other things, but I can remember the hot chocolate, the city rushing by, the smiles on my grandmother’s and her youngest sister’s face. Just the good old day, y’know? Before family drama started to get in the way of everything, before Grammie had a stroke…

2) If you could go anywhere in the world for a week where would you go?

This is a hard question to answer, because to me I feel like a week may never be long enough. Also, I’m not so much “destination bound” as I am “adventure bound.” If I knew that I would be completely safe, I would probably go to Kyrgyzstan to see Aida and just walk and live off of the kindness of others for a week. I would just take it all in, and enjoy beauty. I would see how far I could get.

3) Some of your favorite two colors together/next to each other?

Purple and yellow. Definitely. Without question.

4) What famous person would you like to spend time with, doing what?

😉 Ha ha…to me fame is just an idea, and I feel like I already know plenty of famous people. Or rather, “famous-to-me” people. I would have to say Judith Light, Martina McBride, or Dia Frampton. Singing, laughing, talking, walking, hugging. Basically just getting to know each other.

5) Why did you start blogging?

Well, long ago, back in the beginning before “A Girl Undiscovered” was born, I did it because I thought it was cool. I wanted to be the next big thing, and besides, I love writing. It never could stick around though. I always gave up on my blogs after just a few posts. Then I started my first college class, and I had so much to talk about and I just found myself creating a blog again. I blogged, and blogged, and this time it was just for me. I did it because it felt right, because I wanted to, not because I thought it would make me cool. Turns out, I learned a lot from that… this is the longest I have ever stuck with a blog– and also the most visitors I’ve ever gotten on a blog as well. Just goes to show that doing something because you love it is more important than doing something because you think you should… 

6) What is your astrological sign and what trait can you most relate to/reject?

Which one? I have two! My western astrological sign is Leo, and my eastern is Goat. I will cover both. LEO: I most relate to this feeling of loyalty/warmth/protection that are supposedly characteristics of a Leo. I feel myself striving to protect and give off warmth, all while sticking with the people who support me. I reject the traits of immodesty/promiscuity. I am very, very modest. Very. GOAT: I most relate to the characteristics of whimsy/sensitivity/lack of foresight/worry. I reject the trait of tardiness. I hate being late, so I try oh-so-very hard not to be, and I usually succeed at being on time. An interesting quote about the Leo/Goat combination from Suzanne White’s “The New Astrology” is:

The Lion has the ephemeral spirit of an artist and the ambition of two Napoleon Bonapartes. It is just this mix of sensitivity and resolve that makes for the Leo/Goat’s uncanny ability, despite fuzzy appearances and general lunacy, to arrive smack in the middle of the spotlight. …

7) Who was your best friend when you were in elementary school, tell us about them?

Well, I acutually had three. K, B, and Annie. K & B were my best friends in the early years. K and I were friends in the womb, attending each other’s first birthday parties. We stayed friends throughout much of elementary school, and even though we don’t see each other often are still friends. We did a lot of things together, and were in the same Girl Scout troop for a really long time. B & I met in Girl Scouts when she joined our troop, and the three of us became a group of friends, all three having August birthdays (K and B were born on the same day!). Somewhere along the line, I met Annie and we actually weren’t friends for a while. B moved to Utah, and one day I yelled at Annie for walking through my backyard on her way home to school. She asked to use the bathroom and we were immediate best friends, near inseperable ever since. She’s practically my sister, and no distance or time can ever change that. It’s already been proven, multiple moves and schools later.

8) Describe your most transcendent experience?

I have been lucky to have many, but the most recent and most memorable (even though I have forgotten what it actually felt like up there) was singing Amazing Grace completely accapella with no prior planning in front of a group of strangers and one friend.

  b.(of a concept) falling outside a given set of categories
  c.beyond consciousness or direct apprehension
3. theol (of God) having continuous existence outside the created world
4. free from the limitations inherent in matter

This moment was without a doubt incredibly breathtaking, and I can hardly remember actually being on that stage. I just remember the rush, the feeling of adrenaline, pushing through the nerves and the fear and giving in to the emotions of the moment. I remember everyone standing, to my disbelief, and applauding. I remember tears streaming down my face as I left the stage in a hurry, desperate sobs as I found my friend and opened my arms for a hug. I remember people asking if they could take my picture, asking my name, asking my age. I remember being completely overwhelmed, wondering what had actually gone on to cause this because it could not possible have been “me.” I have sung before a few times, and never gotten this sort of reaction before. It was beyond my control… totally transcending any experience I have ever had.

9) What was the first book that you ever remember reading?

Bridge to Terebithia or Afternoon of the Elves. Don’t remember which one…

10) How popular were you in high school?

Um, depends on where I was, who I was with. In my homewtown with my peers in soccer, 4-H, softball, etc. etc. I don’t think I was exactly popular. Even though I had a lot of friends, none of my friends were in the “popular” crowd at school. I mean, I didn’t even go to public high school, but it doesn’t take a genius to know that I wasn’t one of the in crowd. I went to the dances and I was active in the community, and it was as if I never really knew where I belonged but I always knew who I didn’t belong with because some girls made it very clear to me. I am very grateful for my friends though, and I wouldn’t trade them for a ticket into the popular crowd.

Then there were the homeschoolers that I knew from various surrounding communites. We would often get together and do things that were educational or fun, or both. I never really felt like there was a popular crowd with any of those groups because we all just accepted each other… but looking back now, and realizing that many of them knew who I was when I didn’t know who they were, I think I may have been popular among them. That, or ridiculously forgetful. I suppose people talked about me and my art and photography among that group, because they felt that I was talented and that created a reputation that exceeded myself. I don’t really know… I just tried to spend time with everyone, because they are/were so unique and friendly and talented. Really, they are/were a really good group of caring people.

11) Do you prefer white painted walls or colors?

Colors. I don’t like how all of our walls are just plain off-white, I seriously wish there were some color… it would remind me of something. Something grand. Beautiful. Individual but connected.

——

The Rules

1) Post these rules.
2) Post 11 random things about yourself.
3) Answer the questions set for you in the post of those who tagged you.
4) Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
5) Go to their blog (or email them or tweet them) and tell the people you tagged that you’ve tagged them.
6) No stuff in the tagging section about “you are tagged if you are reading this.” You legitimately have to tag 11 people

——-

The Tagged:

1. Jaclyn Rae
2. Eccentric Owl
3. Abigail Thompson Photography
4. Candee Basford
5. Grace Jones
6. … 😦
…this is really sad. I can’t think of 11 bloggers that haven’t already been tagged… wow…I will tag later…right now I have much to do. Will state 11 random things about myself, and come up with 11 questions for y’all later as well.

Happy Adventures,
Heather

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Facebook: I’m Back. Changes

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. starrlife  |  March 25, 2012 at 8:40 AM

    Don’t be sad….
    I love how you played. Playfulness is a very strong Leo trait as is the leadership that you clearly exhibit in everything that you do. Not surprised at all at the Leo.
    What a wonderful treat to read more about you!
    Purple and yellow – easter colors! Crocus’s come to mind. Hope that Candee plays?

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  April 13, 2012 at 11:07 AM

      Yes, I do hope that Candee and everyone else I tagged plays, once I actually come up with the questions. Haha… It’s been so crazy lately.

      I love that you aren’t surprised by my lioness star sign. Astrology fascinates me and sometimes I feel alienated because I read so much about it and like guessing other people’s. Ha! How strange is that?

      Reply
      • 3. starrlife  |  April 19, 2012 at 7:59 AM

        Guessing mine?

      • 4. Heather  |  April 20, 2012 at 12:21 AM

        Hm…if I had to guess, just from some of the blog posts I’ve read and comments also, that you are a Cancer/Cat. Just a guess! And believe you me, I could be wrong. Let me know?

      • 5. starrlife  |  April 20, 2012 at 8:35 AM

        I’m a Libra- queen of balance (or imbalance) 🙂 Cancer’s are way more squishy than I am but I certainly do love me some cats!

  • 6. daryckc  |  March 26, 2012 at 1:02 AM

    I just wanted to share this with you.
    http://www.whats-your-sign.com/celtic-tree-astrology.html

    Reply
  • 7. daryckc  |  March 26, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    I miss our talks Heather. I just wanted to share this with you.
    http://www.whats-your-sign.com/celtic-tree-astrology.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m Tweeting (Yikes!)

  • So, I started going by my middle name in college because I've always liked it better. Now I'm Renée, and can be tweeted at "teafaellana." 2 years ago
  • I keep reading fanfics to tide me over until #OUaT is back. I can't wait to see more character development of Regina! #EvilRegals 3 years ago
  • This has somehow been the best and worst Thanksgiving I've ever had, all at once. 3 years ago

The Blogger

Smile about what you are thankful for, and never forget you are a dreamer.

I AM

I am a girl on a mission, and the mission I am on is to be myself. I am an undiscovered treasure, and here I am giving you a key that will allow you a little further into the labyrinth of who I am.

Statistics

  • 15,599 visitors

You can find me…

Reading: just about anything I can get my hands on, other blogs, and especially YA Fiction Novels. Lately I have been really into anything by SARK and other non-fiction books. __________________________________ Writing: updates for my blog, a children's book, music/lyrics, and letters to pen pals. ;) __________________________________ Singing: Warm-Ups. __________________________________ Learning: How to use my voice as an instrument, History of Art, Watercolor, how to be actively involved in creating a better community, and something new every single day. __________________________________ Hoping for: Wisdom and patience when things are hard, a smile no matter what, and a better community. __________________________________ Dreaming about: HAPPINESS __________________________________ Eating: <3 Peanut Butter Pie. Peanut Butter Sandwiches. Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies. __________________________________ Drinking: Water, usually. __________________________________ Playing: The Sims 3, Dance Central, and the Piano and Guitar. __________________________________ Watching: Christmas/Halloween movies, Who's the Boss? reruns, and crazy-cool documentaries about dead people. __________________________________ Listening to: Informative & Educational Podcasts, all kinds of music, and trying to listen to my parents (they are very wise, after all).

Join 81 other followers

Heather

Heather loves hats that are designed to look like cute animals, fairy wings, cheese pizza, swimming in ponds, roller blading, taking silly self-portraits, learning, spending time with people, and just about everything else too. Heather does not love ... well, there isn't a lot that she doesn't love. You can probably figure it out after a little while!


